Short but sweet xx 

Evening all!

Bit of a different blog tonight. It’s short but sweet ( like me) 😀 but as you all know by now I have my struggles with depression and anxiety, and have done for many many years now. I’ve fought against it, denied it, stopped medication, blamed people ” if she didn’t treat me like that, then I’d be ok” “if only I had a bigger house, a better car, smaller waist…if only, if only, if only. But as Mr Albert Ellis once said , (one of the founders of CBT ) “it’s not the event that takes place that makes you feel how you do, it’s how you perceive the event.” At first I found this really hard to get my head around, really? But look, we all have choices. We can either sit, dwell, self-blame and feel shit.  Or we can still feel shit but fight the feeling and begin the journey to feel good. We can change these negative moods by changing our thoughts. How? Challenge them, what evidence have you got? And if you have got evidence how long will you mentally abuse yourself? Get moving. And I don’t mean running away, I mean physically moving. Running, walking, boxing, cycling anything you want. Force yourself to do something you know you enjoy. Seek help with a professional and be completely and utterly honest with a friend. It’s not a sign of weakness, it’s a sign of strength and taking charge of your own life. So this is what I have been doing. This past month, I’ve not felt hunky-dory! And if I’d let it, my mind could of taken over. But I took control of my mind. I’ve been quiet. I’m aware of that. But I’ve been busy. First of all I’m taking my Med’s, I eat well, I drink loads of water, but then enjoy my Sunday roast with all the trimmings and a glass of wine! Excersize is my big one. That is amazing for your mood. So get moving. You must become your own teacher, nobody know’s you better than you. Take control and begin to live your life instead of just existing.

Look after yourselves peeps. 

Kate  

   

One thought on “Short but sweet xx 

  1. Another inspiring blog Kate … well done and congratulations for once again being brave and sharing your own problems/ feelings and emotions with the rest of the world !!! You are making a difference to other people by writing these blogs so all credit to you for starting this and carrying on with it … even when you’re struggling yourself. Keep going, take it easy and keep following your own advice !!!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

