Bollocks to the What ifs!

IMG_7398

Hello there and a super duper happy new year!!

Hope you all had a good one whatever you where doing, myself hubby and the kids ate Chinese, played hide and seek in the dark, played the “Yes & No” game and then I was holding a bowl whilst my daughter puked!! So all in all your typical family night in.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve loved  Christmas and new year, but I’m ready to get back to normal, chuck the kids into school and eat a salad instead of Double decker’s and Gin! So then, I’ve had a lot of texts and e-mails over the festive period of people really struggling with their anxiety attacks, feeling panicky and totally overwhelmed and out of control with their feelings.  Well you all thought you where on your own but trust me you where not.  Anxiety takes up a lot of our energy, the mind is ticking away constantly with “what if’s” and fearful thoughts or images, we lock ourselves away and alienate ourselves from the world when things are bad. So how can you stop it? how can we take control and kindly tell it to fuck right off?! Well what do you love? What do you want? Now is the perfect time, its January.  The time for making new beginnings.  But make them achievable.  If you live your life everyday in the “What if’s” you are giving away your hard earned energy to something shite and that may not happen.  Give something fabulous your energy,  take up a new hobbie, make a new friend, do you want you kids to learn the piano or start swimming lessons?  absorb your time into that.  If you are busy and starting something new, your mind is needed for that.  It isn’t possible to concentrate on something and have an anxiety attack at the same time.

Soon it will be the spring, get out in the garden, yard, window ledge or whatever it is you have and make it pretty, get green fingered and grow some veggies!! come on people! The world and life in general is out of our control, but our lives aren’t. So do something new and do what you love and make’s YOU happy.

One of my new goals that I will chuck myself into is an anxiety group.  Anyone is welcome, I’m yet to confirm a meeting place but its for anyone that feels anxious about an impending interview or so anxious the thought of stepping out and meeting a new face makes them want to curl up and die! You are all out there and I’ve had the pleasure of meeting a few and they have all wished there was a group that they could go to, have a cuppa and a Jammie dodger and chat with like minded people. So if you are interested, contact me on here, Facebook, Twitter, e-mail or text so I can begin to add numbers.

I am feeling top drawer at the moment! I’m still taking my med’s,  I shout out if I need help, I’m eating well and overdosing on green tea but also indulging in a few short breads and a cuppa once the girl child has fallen asleep!!

IMG_3073

Well then, my top tips for you and YOUR NEW YEAR………

BE HONEST WITH YOURSELF AND OTHERS

Start the new year as you mean to carry on, If you have been feeling depressed, anxiety is taking over, obsessive thoughts, hearing voices, feeling suicidal, extreme mood changes etc then tell a friend that you trust and go and see your doctor.  Take the first step for you.

EXERSIZE

I know you hear it all the time, but trust me.  Get moving, get out in the fresh air, join a class and burn off those nasty thoughts in your head.

GET A HOBBIE!

Sounds silly, but do something new.  Give yourself a new challenge that you have always wanted to do and concentrate on that instead of the “what ifs”

 

COLOUR 

They are all out there, buy yourself a colouring book, sit in a comfy place that you love and use all the colours of the rainbow.  Its really therapeutic! I love it.

HAPPY DIARY

This is something I do every evening, even when I’m in a black dark day.  I write down in my diary 3 things that made me smile that day.  It can be the most simplest of things, the five minuets peace with a cup of hot tea or painting my nails in the garden! Its just a little thing for you to look back on, so when you do have a dark day and you think that there’s nothing to make you smile, there is.

IT’S OK TO SAY NO!

Saying no is hard, especially if you are a people pleaser.  I understand you want to make people happy and help out to make their life easier, but if you say yes to everything you’ll begin to resent people, feel exhausted and burn yourself out.  Its ok to say no.   Saying no can be just as important as saying yes.

So look after yourselves, make a great start to the new year, colour in and get moving!

Mucho Love

Kate

xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

